Different roads across the state of Illinois have different speed limits, and drivers who break those speed limits likely know that they could face tickets if they get caught by police. After all, speeding is a common infraction that mostly goes undetected and unpenalized. Quite a few people will judge that the risk of a ticket is not more concerning than the delay involved in driving more slowly.
Given that many people have permissive attitudes about exceeding the speed limit, some people will drive at speeds that are much higher than the posted limit. Many drivers in Illinois realize that they may face a more substantial fine if they get caught and ticketed for driving at higher speeds. Fewer people realize that they can wind up charged with a criminal offense if they drive too much over the speed limit.
Understanding what constitutes super speeding or aggravated speeding in Illinois can help you make smarter decisions at the wheel and also help you strategize if you find yourself charged with a speeding-related criminal offense.
What’s the difference between a moving violation and a criminal speeding offense?
Under Illinois state law, the amount of miles per hour by which someone violates the posted speed limit is the primary determining factor in whether that driver will face a citation or a criminal charge. Exceeding the speed limit by anywhere from 1 to 25 miles an hour may result in a ticket. Those who get caught while going 26 miles an hour or more over the posted speed limit will likely face criminal speeding charges.
How are the charges and penalties different for super speeding?
When an officer stops you for a standard speeding violation, they will issue you a ticket. In certain circumstances, you may choose to fight the ticket and go to traffic court. Many drivers, however, will just pay the ticket in order to move on with their life.
The same option doesn’t exist for those accused of excessive speeding. Aggravated or super speeding charges will result in misdemeanor criminal charges, which means that you will have to go to court. You will also face more serious penalties.
Going 26 miles an hour or more over the speed limit is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries up to six months in jail and a fine of as much as $1,500. If your speed is 35 miles per hour or more about the posted limit, the charges will be a Class A misdemeanor, which means even more penalties. When you consider that a speeding ticket for doing 25 miles per hour over the speed limit carries a fine of $140, the difference made by only a few more miles per hour is noteworthy.